Mongolian food

I haven’t gotten around to writing an overview of traditional and/or what’s-eaten-around-m Mongolian food, so imagine my delight when I saw this excellent post on To Mongolia with Love. Enjoy, and I will try to get my post on grocery shopping done soon as a follow up.

To Mongolia with Love

I read somewhere that “no one comes to Mongolia for the food.” That’s a really harsh and insensitive statement, but one I’m inclined to agree with. Meaning, unfortunately, it’s doubtful I’ll ever have a craving for the cultural cuisine. Much of the Mongolian food is very labor intensive. It is not uncommon for a meal to take 1-2 hours to prepare. (Which, actually, now that I think of it, might be standard but remember I didn’t really cook before I came here.) For anything involving dough, that is made from scratch.

The main courses:

Buuz – (pronounced “boats”) round, meat-filled dumpling. These can be eaten as is or made mini (“bansh”) and added to soup, which also contains meat.

Giddis – literally translates to “stomach” but refers to any of the animal innards. I did it. Once. A bite of intestines. The taste is tolerable, but the texture… slimy… It…

View original post 1,059 more words

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Mongolian food

  1. Joan and Wally MacDonald

    Just as I thought, Mongolia isn’t for foodies, nor really for vegetarians. The presentations are fine though. So what are you two cooking at home?

    Weather in Midwest and East, fortunately not CA, seems to be taking a page from Mongolian weather. We’re hearing much about the “polar vortex”. And the Climate warming deniers are having a field day mixing weather and climate as synonymous. Chicago was/is far colder than Alaska!!!

  2. Actually, that looks kind of tasty. The worst food I’ve encountered had to be in Bhutan, although it is entirely organic.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Ms. Muslamic

Islamic Feminism, Postcolonialism, Pop Culture, Ray Guns and Creeping Sharia

Hye Rachel

Give me all the lamajoon you have. What I'm worried you heard was "give me a lot of lamajoon." What I said was, give me all the lamajoon you have.

Judds in Mongolia

Learning and Teaching in the Land of the Blue Sky

Czechesotans

Expat life and travels in Mongolia

Interfaith Ramadan

Expat life and travels in Mongolia

To Mongolia with Love

The views expressed on this blog do not reflect the opinion of the US Peace Corps or the United States Government

Dedicated to Durians

Malaysian Durian Lover's Reference Site

Cover Mongolia

Expat life and travels in Mongolia

Help Each Other Out

Expat life and travels in Mongolia

EatingAsia

Expat life and travels in Mongolia

magiecrystal

follow me to the ends of the earth...

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

